Failure to keep right at intersection (N.J.S.A. 39:4-83)
When you’re driving through an intersection, you must drive along the right half of the street, unless it’s impossible to do so. If you fail to adhere to this, you will get a traffic ticket pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-83. In this article, experienced New Jersey traffic ticket attorney Dan T. Matrafajlo will guide you through the pertinent law and the ramifications it could have on you.
The law: N.J.S.A. 39:4-83
The New Jersey law that requires keeping right at intersections is N.J.S.A. 39:4-83. It says:
“In crossing an intersection of highways or the intersection of a highway and a railroad right of way, the driver of a vehicle shall at all times cause the vehicle to travel on the right half of the roadway unless the right half is obstructed or impassable. The foregoing limitations shall not apply upon a one-way roadway.”
This means that you have to keep on the right side of the road when crossing intersections at all times unless it’s a one-way street or it’s impossible to pass through the right side.
MVC points and penalties
The New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission (MVC) will assess two points on your New Jersey driving record when you violate this law. MVC points added to your driving record can mean surcharges or a suspended license. Point violations will stay on your driving record, but for every year you go without getting a motor vehicle violation or license suspension, the MVC will subtract three points. You can also get two points off of your record by taking an MVC-approved defensive driving course, but keep in mind that you can only get points taken off for this once every five years.
The traffic fine for failing to keep right at an intersection is $85. However, if you commit this violation in a designated safe corridor or construction zone, the fine is $140.
Additionally, the court has the discretion to fine you a minimum of $50 to a maximum of $200 and/or imprison you in state prison for up to 15 days.
New Jersey-licensed automobile insurance providers have a separate system that keeps track of your driving record, called the “insurance eligibility points” system. If you are found to have violated N.J.S.A. 39:4-83, two points will be added to your record. This will cause your insurance premiums to go up.
I can help.
If you’ve been ticketed for failing to keep right at an intersection, you may need the help of a New Jersey traffic ticket attorney who can get the charges dropped and points taken off your driving record. Dan T. Matrafajlo has years of experience handling traffic ticket matters. Call today at (908) 248-4404 for a free initial consultation.