Improper U-Turn (NJSA 39:4-125)
New Jersey Annotated Statute 39:4-125 prohibits making a U-turn in certain locations, namely “upon any curve or upon the approach to or near the crest of a grade or at any place upon a highway … where the view … is obstructed within a distance of five hundred feet along the highway in either direction” and highways conspicuously marked with signs stating “no U turn.”
In other words, you may not make a U-turn on a New Jersey highway where a sign prohibits it, or where you cannot see 500 feet in front of and behind you.
Fines and Other Penalties for Violating NJSA 39:4-125
Being convicted of or pleading guilty to making an improper U-turn on a New Jersey highway will get you an $85 fine ($140 if you made the U-turn in a construction zone). This seems like a low enough penalty that you may be considering just paying the fine instead of fighting the charge in court.
Be aware, however, that paying a traffic ticket is equivalent to pleading guilty to the offense you are charged with. You will have three points added to your driving record. These points don’t expire, but three points will be subtracted for each year you go without a traffic violation or a traffic suspension and points may also be deducted for participating in certain driving courses approved by the Motor Vehicle Commission.
If you already have points on your driving record, or if you get points for additional traffic violations in the future, you will incur additional penalties, including fines and possibly even a suspension of your driver’s license. (Your license will be suspended if you have 12 points on your record at any time.)
In addition to penalties imposed through the courts and the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, your private insurer is likely to raise the premium you pay. New Jersey insurers use a system of “insurance eligibility points” to assess the risk you pose as a driver, and if you accumulate too many points, you may find yourself unable to buy insurance through any private insurer.
How a New Jersey Traffic Ticket Attorney Can Help
If you have been accused of making an improper U-turn on a New Jersey highway, don’t pay your ticket without first consulting with experienced central New Jersey traffic ticket attorney Dan Matrafajlo. He has years of experience defending drivers like you and may be able to help reduce your penalties or get your charges dropped altogether. Call (908) 248-4404 for a free evaluation.