New Jersey Speeding Tickets(NJSA 39:4-98)
Speeding is one of the most common types of traffic tickets issued in the State of New Jersey, as well as in most other states in the country. For most drivers, especially those driving on the open roads or highways when it is not congested, going over the speed limit is easy to do. But what isn’t easy is paying the fines and consequences of a speeding ticket.
If you or someone you know has gotten a speeding ticket, it does not mean that you have to automatically plead guilty and pay the penalties. At the Law Offices of Dan T. Matrafajlo, our New Jersey traffic attorneys can help you fight your speeding ticket.
What Is the Different Speed Limits in New Jersey?
Each state sets its own speed limits for each specific area. New Jersey speed limits are as follows:
- 25 miles per hour in a school zone when children are visible from the roadway.
- 25 miles per hour in a business or residential district.
- 35 miles per hour in a suburban business or residential district.
- 50 miles per hour in all other locations.
The Commissioner of Transportation can decide that any of these speeds are greater or less than is reasonable or safe for any specific stretch of a highway, and may adjust the speed limit accordingly. In such a case, an appropriate sign will be erected, which drivers must follow.
A driver must also reduce his speed as appropriate at a train crossing, when going around a curve, at the crest of a hill, on a narrow or winding road, or when pedestrians, traffic, weather, or highway conditions warrant it.
Fines and Other Penalties in Speeding tickets
If you are convicted of or plead guilty to a New Jersey speeding ticket, your punishment depends on two factors: how fast you were going and whether you were in a safe corridor or construction zone. Below are the fines you will have to pay for speeding outside of a safe corridor or construction zone:
- Exceeding speed limit by 1-9 miles per hour, $85
- Exceeding speed limit by 10-14 miles per hour, $95
- Exceeding speed limit by 15-19 miles per hour, $105
- Exceeding speed limit by 20-24 miles per hour, $200
- Exceeding speed limit by 25-29 miles per hour, $220
- Exceeding speed limit by 30-34 miles per hour, $240
- Exceeding speed limit by 35-39 miles per hour, $260
Below are the fines you will have to pay for speeding in a safe corridor or construction zone:
- Exceeding speed limit by 1-9 miles per hour, $140
- Exceeding speed limit by 10-14 miles per hour, $160
- Exceeding speed limit by 15-19 miles per hour, $180
Exceeding the speed limit by 40 miles per hour or more (or by 20 miles per hour or more in a construction zone or safe corridor) requires a court appearance.
In addition to the fines listed above, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle violation Commission will add points to your driving record. If you accumulate enough of these points, you will be subject to additional fines, or even a license suspension (if you have 12 or more points at any time).
The points that will be added to your record for speeding are:
- Exceeding speed limit by 1-14 miles per hour, two points
- Exceeding speed limit by 15-29 miles per hour, four points
- Exceeding speed limit by 30 miles per hour or more, five points
New Jersey-licensed auto insurance providers have a separate system of “insurance eligibility points,” which they use to determine the premiums you have to pay. Being convicted of or pleading guilty to a speeding ticket will result in more points and higher premiums for three years.
New Jersey Speeding Ticket Attorney Dan Matrafajlo Can Help
If you have received a speeding ticket in New Jersey, you may face serious penalties, including monetary fines, higher insurance rates, or loss of your license. An experienced NJ speeding ticket attorney can help protect you and your driving record. Attorney Dan Matrafajlo has been representing central New Jersey drivers for years. Please call (908) 248-4404 today to schedule a free consultation.