logo
Call us today

FREE CASE EVALUATION
  1. Please fill out the following form and we will contact you as soon as possible.
  2. Captcha
 

cforms contact form by delicious:days

New Jersey DUI Penalties

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in New Jersey may result in fines, imprisonment, or the loss of your driving privileges. It can be expensive and time-consuming to get these privileges back. However, while it is a difficult task, it is not impossible.

Dwi Attorneys:Dan T. MatrafajloIf you or someone you know is facing drunk driving or DUI charges, it is in their best interest to hire an experienced New Jersey DWI Lawyer to help them fight the charges. At the Law Offices of Dan T. Matrafajlo,our New Jersey DWI lawyers can aggressively negotiate to lower the penalties you are facing or try to get the charges dismissed altogether.

Factors Affecting The Severity of DWI Charges

How severe the penalties will be in your particular case depends on a few different factors, including whether this was your first offense, the level of your blood alcohol content at the time of your arrest, and whether you refused a chemical test.

Regardless of how severe or insignificant the DWI charges against you may be, you do not want to simply plead guilty to avoid the “hassle” of dealing with the charges. It is in your best interest to hire an experienced New Jersey Dui attorney lawyer to help fight the charges against you and avoid the penalties altogether or at least have them reduced.

New Jersey Dui Penalty Overview

Our New Jersey DUI lawyers have compiled a list of DUI penalties you may face in a few different circumstances:

First Offense with Blood Alcohol Content Between 0.08% and 0.10%

-           Three months suspended driver’s license
-           $250-$400 fine
-           12-48 hours at Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
-           Up to 30 days imprisonment

First Offense with Blood Alcohol Content Over 0.10%

-          Seven months to one year suspended driver’s license

-          $300-$500 fine

-          12-48 hours IDRC

-          Up to 30 days imprisonment

Second Offense

-          Two years suspended driver’s license

-          $%00-$1,000 fine

-          30 days community service

-          12-48 hours IDRC

-          49 hours to 90 days imprisonment

Third or Subsequent Offense

-          Ten years suspended driver’s license

-          $1,000 fine

-          Up to 90 days community service

-          12-48 IDRC

-          180 days imprisonment

Refusing a Chemical Test, First Offense

-          Seven months to one year suspended driver’s license

-          $300-$500 fine

-          12 hours minimum IDRC

Refusing a Chemical Test, Second Offense

-          Two years suspended driver’s license

-          $500-$1,000 fine

-          12 hours minimum IDRC

Refusing a Chemical Test, Third or Subsequent Offense

-          Ten years suspended driver’s license

-          $1,000 fine

-          12 hours minimum IDRC

School Zones

There are traditional penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol in a school zone or school crossing. They are typically twice the normal penalties (up to 20 years suspended driver’s license, a $2,000 fine, and 180 days imprisonment for a third offense).

Insurance Surcharges

In addition to these court-imposed penalties, a conviction for a New Jersey DUI will also result in $1,000 per year insurance surcharge for a first or second offense, and a $1,500 per year insurance surcharge for a third offense. These surcharges last for three years, so the total increase in insurance costs for a New Jersey DUI first offense will be $3,000 or $4,500.

Avoid the harsh DUI Penalties-Contact DUI Attorney Dan T. Matrafajlo

Clearly, the possible penalties you may face for a New Jersey DUI first offense conviction or a guilty plea are severe and can significantly affect all aspects of your life, especially if this is not your first offense. If you have been accused of driving under the influence, it is imperative that you hire the help of an experienced New Jersey DWI lawyer Dan T. Matrafajlo who can present the best possible defense on your behalf.

At the Law Offices of Dan T. Matrafajlo, we have the experience and resources to fight the DUI first offense charges against you and have them reduced or dismissed altogether. For more information or to schedule a complimentary consultation with one of our New Jersey DUI attorneys, call us at (908) 248-4404.